Curious Day

I have spent a weirding sort of a day. I spent investigating the case of four payments which went missing and then miraculously appeared last Friday. Neither the sending bank nor the receiving bank claim any knowledge of what has gone wrong and it is no one’s fault. While I did that I negotiated the virtual Ocado queue fill my shopping basket for an hour negotiating with everyone that the right food would be bought, only to get to the checkout to be unable to get a delivery slot. That meant I spent the afternoon breaking self-isolation to go to the dump (and yes a queuing system was in place) joined lots of others including many or seventies to dump our rubbish. Then dropped the car off to have the winter tyres swapped, no other customers in sight and ended up at Tesco’s to shop donning a mask. Negotiating the emptyish shelves (unable to get a whole chicken or chicken wings to feed the hungry teenager, toilet roll or paracetamol – not sure what that says about us as a nation).

We live in curious times and I am sure more curious days to come. Not sure I will be able to pick up the car tomorrow now that we are in lockdown. Not sure when normal life will resume.

Leave a comment